DEV Community

Cover image for My experience of learning with Udacity
Akkiraja
Akkiraja

Posted on

My experience of learning with Udacity

Recently I took a Python free course and a UX nanodegree on Udacity. Here what I liked and disliked about the platform.

Udacity is one of the leading online education institute founded by Sebastian Thrun an ex-Stanford professor and also the founder of GoogleX.

Nanodegrees are certifications which are cost and time-effective alternative to traditional degrees as they offer focussed content on high-tech topics.
Apart from high-quality content and a good UI, there are certain features where Udacity impressed me.

The first one was mentorship. You are assigned a mentor after you enroll in it. The work of the mentor is to guide you throughout the program. Personally I didn’t make use of my mentor much, but I can say having a mentor is life-saving. Feedback from your mentor helps in building your professional network and also your competency.

The second feature I liked was their community forums.
It helped me to a question, seek some advice, get support, and I could even answer questions from other students.

Lastly, I was impressed by their career services. While learning I found that Udacity cares about their students by providing some extra perks. Those extra perks can help you land a job.

All students receive their extensive career support, and they make sure you are ready to launch your job search with career coaching, interview prep, and a network of tech companies.

Well, there are a certain drawbacks of learning from Udacity. Firstly, nanodegrees are expensive. When I researched,I found that partnership with organizations like Google Amazon Salesforce, providing mentorship to every student and the help that you get in the career services adds up to the cost.

Anyways after completing their python course, I am planning to enroll in their data scientist course as I have read some interesting Nanodegree reviews

Well, I hope this article gives you some perspective about the platform.

Top comments (0)