DEV Community

Albert
Albert

Posted on

MacBook pro upgrade

So I got a MacBook pro with 8GB of RAM and a storage of 128GB for sometime now but am running out of space and am thinking of upgrading to 512GB. Is this a good idea?. Will it be less performant?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
stephzilla profile image
Stephanie Hekker

I did this recently. My MacBook Pro is an early-2011 and I upgraded my 500 GB Hard drive to a 1TB SSD.

This is the drive I installed

This is the tutorial I followed for the upgrade

Good Luck!

Collapse
 
otolock profile image
Antonio Santos

Why not buy an external HDD? You can get a 4TB HDD for about $100 nowadays. It'll be much cheaper that upgrading to a whole new computer for more space.

Collapse
 
albertdugba profile image
Albert

Am not upgrading to a while2new computer. Am just changing the hardrive within to a larger storage

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.