DEV Community

Alex Georgiev
Alex Georgiev

Posted on • Updated on

What is your daily routine?

I would like to hear what is everyone doing during WFH (Working from Home). Have you established some goals for each day, for example, to exercise or to read a book, take small breaks each hour.

Do you have a to-do list that you follow each day of the week or you just try to stay productive but do not follow a routine?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

I don’t really have a day-by-day list, but my general routine is as follows:

  • Wake up at 06:00, get a shower and a light breakfast and catch some quick news podcasts (NPR and the BBC World Service both do nice 5-minute news summaries every hour, I typically listen to these, and usually also something similar in either Swedish or Spanish (working on learning both languages, and this is a great way to help boost listening comprehension)).
  • Start ‘working’ at 07:00. Except for Fridays, this translates to joining the daily team meeting for the team I’m part of (which ends up actually being at about 14:00 for everyone else in the meeting, because they’re seven hours ahead of me).
  • Typically around 09:00 I go for walk or jog (about 1.2km).
  • Around about 11:00 I start worrying about what I’ll be doing for lunch. If I’ve got a meeting at 12:00 (when I normally eat lunch) I’ll eat early, but otherwise it0s just deciding what I will do for lunch and ordering it if I’m getting something delivered (which ends up being the case about two or three times a week).
  • After figuring out what I’m doing for lunch, I take some time to get some more concrete exercise (I typically do a mixed aerobics routine that takes me about 20 minutes).
  • After eventually eating lunch, I take a short break to do a couple of language lessons on Duolingo and take another short walk (again, about 1.2km).
  • After that, I work until some time mid afternoon before signing off for the day. Exactly when varies based on my meeting schedule and what exactly I need to get done when, but typically up through about 16:00.

The 07:00 start time is a side effect of typically working 07:00 to 16:00 at m former job, which I mostly kept to for my current job because it makes life easier when trying to collaborate with my predominantly European colleagues (most of whom are on Eastern European Time, as compared to me being on US Eastern Time).