DEV Community

Alex Gwartney
Alex Gwartney

Posted on • Updated on

How do you familiarize your self with a open source project.

I hope every one is having a good holiday weekend. I wanted to post this as I recently have been talking with a few friends of mine regarding getting into open source for beginners. I have seen so many tutorials about getting into open source. But not one of these tutorials actually explains how to get familiar with the code base. More specifically how to even find the files where a bug maybe at and then how to start breaking that down to possibly find a solution.

Generally when your on a job you would get trained and have mentors ect helping you get familiar with different parts of the project. So my question is for you all that have contributed to open source projects. How do you suggest going about figuring everything out for the first time?

Top comments (0)