DEV Community

Cover image for Who Am I *Not* to Put Myself Out There?
Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

Who Am I *Not* to Put Myself Out There?

This post was originally published on July 10, 2020 on my blog.

I had a wonderful walk this morning where I had the chance to think about my current life projects and where I want to go with them.

I don't think I'd be anywhere close to this headspace at the moment had it not been for the fact that I've been so enthusiastic about certain situations in my life as they presented themselves to me.

In other words, if I saw an opportunity that gave me a certain spark, I chased it down. Period.

More recently, I threw my proverbial hat into the running to be a speaker at this year's CodeLand:Distributed Conference.

As a relatively novice coder, I'll sometimes look at the lineup and think I'm way out of my league.

Like, who was I to think I might be able to share the stage with such accomplished engineers and other experts?

But, then again, who am I not to throw myself into the running?

What if all of the experiences I've accumulated up to this point have put me in the exact position to share my perspective and potentially reach those who need to hear it most?

All this is to say - I invite you to attend this conference - CodeLand:Distributed on July 23 (it's virtual, so you don't need to get all dolled up - unless you really want to).

My talk - Being Utterly Fearless in Your Pursuit of Learning to Code - will be my first-ever foray into public speaking on a relatively larger scale.

And I'm so excited about it!

If you're interested, just head to www.codelandconf.com to register.


Thanks so much for reading along! Now let's be friends over on Twitter >>

P.S. I've launched a brand-new podcast with new episodes each Wednesday! Stay up to date by signing up for the newsletter here >>

The Ladies Code Collective Podcast art

Top comments (0)