DEV Community

Amir Mullagaliev
Amir Mullagaliev

Posted on

Open Source Development

Why am I taking this course

I have already introduced myself, but never covered the open source development. Open source development doesn't have frames, you may start working on existing project and become an open source developer or create your own and become open source maintainer. Huge community that stays behind "Open Source Development" doesn't have edges, find people thinking the same way as you are or teaching/pushing learn new things, all the above I described is about what attracted me in Open Source. I have taken this program because it will boost my skills and knowledge.

Expectations

Throughout this course I am expecting to gain knowledge and the skills as I said earlier; however, I understand that it's not going to be easy. I am writing these blogs right after the first online lecture, and now feel way better about my strengths and what I am capable of because everything is coming through the hard work, and as I understand people here are willing to help, this course already has a huge community. To be honest, I don't even know what kind of projects I want to choose, but I ,definitely, want to work with OOP languages.

Trending Repo

Telegram repository that caught my eye is a project that runs your own messenger with high-speed and high-security on Android device.
Why I chose this repository?
First of all, I love to use this messenger. Secondly, it was founded by Pavel Durov who founded earlier Russian version of Facebook. Besides all the things that I listed above, one of the most attractive criterias of this project while I was exploring is that the major part was written on OOP languages Java/C++.

Telegram Icon

Top comments (0)