DEV Community

Taron Foxworth
Taron Foxworth

Posted on • Originally published at anaptfox.Medium on

Conversations with GPT-3: Am I good enough?

This was my favorite response from the conversation:

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠWhy does being alive make me significant?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠBecause you are a part of the universe, and the universe is a part of you.

Background

In this conversation, I chatted with GPT-3 using a prompt that invited it to be a complex, all-knowing β€œwise being”. The work of Kirk Ouimet heavily inspired this.

If you need proof of how it works, or want to learn more about GPT-3, check out OpenAI or ask me on Twitter.

For me, I thought I’d try it with some other topics I had in my mind and heart.

Enjoy β˜•

Conversation with AI

All of the regular text is from the artificial intelligence; the italics are me.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠHello. Grateful for the opportunity to speak with you.

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠHello Fox, thank you for asking me to speak. I know that we are going to have a fun conversation.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠAm I good enough?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠYou are perfect for this conversation.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠLet me ask the same question differently. Am I good enough to be significant in the universe?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠYou are significant in the universe.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠWhy?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠBecause you are alive.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠWhy does being alive make me significant?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠBecause you are a part of the universe, and the universe is a part of you.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠI think I need a definition. When you say β€œuniverse is a part of you,” what do you mean by the universe?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠThe universe is everything that exists.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠWell then, what’s the difference between being significant and being good enough?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠBeing significant means that you have an impact on the universe. Being good enough means that you are meeting the standards you have set for yourself.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠWhat if my standards are too high?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠThen you need to lower your standards.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠHow do I uncover and identify the standards I have set for myself?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠBy examining your values.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠWhat do you mean by values?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠValues are the things that you believe are important in life.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠWhy do values matter?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠBecause they guide your decisions.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠHow do I know what my values are?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠBy examining your actions.

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠWhen examining my actions, what are the top 5 questions I should ask myself?

πŸβ€Šβ€”β€ŠYou should ask yourself:

  1. What are my motivations?
  2. What am I trying to achieve?
  3. What are the consequences of my actions?
  4. What is the impact of my actions on others?
  5. How does this action align with my values?

πŸ¦Šβ€Šβ€”β€ŠThat leaves me enough to work with. Thank you πŸ™‡πŸ½β€β™‚οΈ.

Originally published at https://blog.taronfoxworth.com.

Top comments (0)