DEV Community

Moszio
Moszio

Posted on

<h1>Phase 1 Flatiron School experience and suggestions!<h1>

Introduction
I just finished my 6th week at Flatiron School. Time flies by... Just before entering phase-3 I wanted to share my experience and progress and some suggestions to anyone who is thinking to get started!

Week 1
Oh week one... the best word to describe it? Overwhelming.. Not only you have a whole new environment and new people, but you have to go through an immense amount of material. I was studying day and night with very little sleep, but I got through it and learned so much. I really started to love JavaScript as it was our main focus. There are just so much you can do with it.
My favorite of all is by far event listeners. There is nothing more rewarding then to see your buttons working and actually functioning.
Of course, there is a lot more then just event listeners to it.
My suggestion for anyone who decides to start this school? Be prepared learn some basics. Definitely learn some HTML and CSS because you are not going to have time to learn from scratch while you are learning JavaScript.

Week 2
Week 2 was for me deepening my knowledge about JavaScript get to know CRUD operations such as GET,POST,PATCH,DELETE.

let request = async () => {
 // initiate request to your choosen server
 let req = await fetch(`url`)
 let res = await req.json()
 console.log("data: ", res)
}
request()
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Using an external API or a local host allows you to have more persistent websites and not just have everything erased after you refresh the page. The best thing about the API is the data it will provide you and you can build so much around that data.
Somehow coming up with a new website idea is a lot easier. Just lookup public APIs and you can build anything.

Week 3
It starts to feel like everything is coming together...
This is also the week of creating your own website as your first project.
When I first started to think about a website idea my first thought to get motivation is looking through public API-s, although it is a great way to get motivation there is just way too many options and you could feel like in candy store... Good luck making up your mind. You just want to try all of them.
So I decided to move away from creating my website based on API and instead I focused on my previous experiences and what am I passionate about. So I did and I have created something that I could call my own, what a great feeling.
**Suggestion **make sure whatever your idea is, before deep diving into coding first find a relevant API that provides you the necessary data.

Here is a list of API(no authorization required):
https://mixedanalytics.com/blog/list-actually-free-open-no-auth-needed-apis/

Just one more link to share:
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/
this website will become your best friend:)

If you are interested to get more information about the school and the program don't hesitate to DM me.

Top comments (0)