DEV Community

Cover image for A telltale Sign of An Inexperienced Programmer
Karl Esi
Karl Esi

Posted on

A telltale Sign of An Inexperienced Programmer

You don't want others seeing or critiquing your code.

If you did, they would probably be suggesting that you do things differently. Or speak on how inefficient or unreadable it is.

And you don't want to touch it again, because you got it working. You wrestled with it for too long. You are sick of it. And we just don't like the criticism as new developers.

Strangely, we want them to praise our super complex and unmaintainable code.

Also read: The One Thing Nobody Seems To Be Talking About

But thankfully, there are code reviews, and there are gate set up. So, the senior devs will have to approve or reject your pull requests.

This is a learning process.

The point here is to accept that you are a junior dev, and write junior level code. And the only way to really get better at it, is to have people critic your code.

And learning what is wrong with it and making adjustments in how you code along the way.

So, write your code, take the criticism and advice of others and let it fuel you into becoming a better programmer.

Rooting for you,

Karl ⛹️

P.S. The Complete HTML, CSS, JavaScript Course is the programming course I wish I had when I was younger. It contains everything I’ve learned from building million-dollar web applications. Let’s build your dream freelance career this weekend! 💚

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
bwca profile image
Volodymyr Yepishev

If you have hard time accepting criticism, look at it this way: somebody actually read your code and cared enough to suggest something. Some senior devs would just approve it and send any related future bugs your way instead.

Collapse
 
thekarlesi profile image
Karl Esi

Spot on!

Collapse
 
lexlohr profile image
Alex Lohr

That's why I try to educate junior developers about criticism.

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

That remains a brilliant piece Alex.

Collapse
 
rgolawski profile image
Rafał Goławski

In my first job, I didn't have any code reviews. I felt like I was stumbling around in the dark, leaving bugs in my code that embarrassed me when another developer had to fix them for me. Thankfully, in my second role, I had excellent code reviewers. I learned a ton and never took feedback personally. My top tips for juniors developers in this regard would be:

  1. Remember, you are not your code.
  2. Your code might suck, but it doesn't mean you do.
  3. Don't hesitate to ask senior developers if you can review their code! It's a reminder that everyone, regardless of their experience, can make mistakes.
Collapse
 
thekarlesi profile image
Karl Esi

Well said Rafal.