DEV Community

Cover image for My coding journey from 100 days of coding challenge
Annamalai Palani
Annamalai Palani

Posted on

My coding journey from 100 days of coding challenge

Hi. I am Annshiv. First of all, I need to say apologies for my English mistakes. Welcome to my first blog post. This post will cover my coding journey from the #100daysofcode challenge to my job.

Annshiv

Why I took this challenge ?

I did my 100 days coding challenge on mid of 2020. Before this challenge also, I am able to write code and solve coding problems. I am not a computer science student. I chose electronics engineering. Because I thought electronics engineers are whose writing programming to electronic devices. After a one-year completion of my college. I felt that that was wrong. Then I started to learn programming by myself.

I started to learn with YouTube and hacker Rank. At the start of 2020 literally, I am good at solving problems. In March 2020, amid pandemic lockdown implemented all over India, during this time, I need to move to my hometown. I felt I am good at programming. Then I thought "Ok now, we are good at programming so we will create projects using those learned programming languages". Then I started to make a tic tac toe game using python. During that project, I struggled a lot. Then I realized this knowledge is not enough to make the project. we need to revise all those things that I learned and need to learn more as well. At that time I saw one person's #100daysCodingChallenge post on LinkedIn. That was really inspired me. I started to think about "why I can't do that". Then I started #100DaysOfCode.

Things that I got from this challenge

I started with basic python to revise my knowledge. I planned to learn and practice python. Daily I learned python and practice those topics on hackerrank and CodeChef. Then I will share those things with my LinkedIn family. Each day I started to spend more than 10+ hours learning to program.

You just imagine how it would be if a man have spent his entire time infront of a computer for this one year journey with minimal social interaction,with high mental pressure to keep up with the schedule. Inspite of I have managed to preserve, there would be many difficulties I faced. The combined of my exhaustive routine of learning programming and doing projects outside of my college campus did not provide me leisure time enough to do other activities in my life because I was fully tied up with it. I got few followers. They are motivated me to complete this challenge. Some of them directly messaged me to give their appreciation. During this challenge, I learned data structures and algorithms, completed 20+ python projects and some web-related projects. Day by day my confidence level and programming skill were improved gradually. I attended hackathons(I won nothing).

#100daysofcode

Successfully I completed 100daysofcode challenge. This consistentcy made me to become smarter as well as more self confident person. This made a huge positive impact in my life. It really enhanced my social life. I am sure, this challenge helped me a lot in my interview rounds. end of this challenge, My confidence level was high. After that challenge, I took the #50daysCoding challenge (web development projects). Then I learned Django, react, javascript SQL and etc...!

At the start of 2021, Still colleges are closed. I was full busy with the learning program. In February, I and my friend signed a freelancing project. That time was also a learning period for me. Because that project is based on angular which I didn't learn yet. simultaneously I was Learning and working on that project. Successfully we completed that project. This is my first earning as a software developer. In June 2022, I joined LUMEL technologies as a software developer. LUMEL makes me feel more satisfied with my position and more confident in my programming-related skills.

It seemed quite trivial at the beginning of the day I started to learn.The challenge of learning within a hundred days has gone beyond that and this went on for 365 days.Even though this journey was electrified and exhilarated throughout the learning, it was definitely no easy feat.

365daysofcode

My journey was never ended to this date. At least daily I learned or wrote one concept is related to programming. My journey will continue and I hope it will never end. This challenge gave me everything that I want and need.

At last, below picture speaks about me lot
4YearChallange

LinkedIN : https://www.linkedin.com/in/annamalai923/
GitHub : https://github.com/annshiv

Please give your support and suggestions. Thank you for reading this.

Top comments (0)