DEV Community

Cover image for Diatonic scale builder
Antonov Mike
Antonov Mike

Posted on

Diatonic scale builder

When I first started learning programming (Rust) in November 2021, I rapidly had the idea to write an algorithm to calculate diatonic harmonies from any note. At the end of December 2021 I started my first attempts and wrote some nonsense in half a year. Recently I decided to rewrite the project from scratch and managed it literally in a couple of days. Because of the problem with getting a new place to live, it's hard for me to calculate the time I spent. In general, I am satisfied with the result. There is one last problem left to solve: automatically fixing the "wrong" alteration signs of the root note. Because we don't want to use weird cases like E sharp which is F or Fb which is E and C sharp which is H and Hb which is C. Have to write the documentation. I may try to turn this project into a crate. It would also be interesting to rewrite the project in Python.
What I lack now is practice in the real project. But there is only job for at least middles and you can't get into a real project without experience in the real project. I should look for a job where I don't get paid. To at least get experience in a real project

Almost done

Top comments (0)