DEV Community

apklip
apklip

Posted on

Random Quote Generator - Student Project (Middle School/High School)

My Final Project

Demo Link

https://codepen.io/DarkPigeons/full/YqqpRW

Link to Code

https://codepen.io/DarkPigeons/pen/YqqpRW

How I built it (what's the stack? did I run into issues or discover something new along the way?)

Hello! I used HTML/CSS/JS alongside the forismatic API. This project is important for me is because it is one of the first projects that I actually built from scratch! I followed the guidelines set on FreeCodeCamp. Also, it's one of the few projects that still works (a lot of my other projects broke due to API changes/etc over the years, this is one of the few that stood up despite being the first!). I discovered the joy of coding and learned programming beyond theory. Being my first project, it was quite intimidating to have to deal with problems such as the API not working correctly at first, but I learned how to google effectively and ask for help. By doing both of those things, I managed to overcome most of my obstacles.

Additional Thoughts / Feelings / Stories

It's really important to get to actually creating projects in order to learn how to code!

Good luck!

Top comments (0)