DEV Community

Cover image for Enabling Communication: Adding Messaging Feature to the Contractr App
Arash Jangali
Arash Jangali

Posted on

Enabling Communication: Adding Messaging Feature to the Contractr App

Day 87 of #100DaysOfCode was another day of progress as I worked exclusively on my project. I got into a flow and had a lot of fun. I focused on the frontend a bit and then mainly worked on implementing the messaging feature. Today's accomplishments were particularly exciting as I wrote the code for selecting the liked user and sending a message from the sender (the logged-in user) to the receiver (the user who has been selected as a "like"). In order to store these messages, I created a new collection for messages in the database.

The new message component allows users to send and receive messages to and from each other, at least for now, clients to freelancers. I'm excited to implement this feature for the other side as well, making the app more user-friendly and easier to navigate for both clients and freelancers.

I have to say, it's been a great experience learning how to build a full-stack application from scratch. I'm glad to see that my hard work and perseverance are paying off, and I'm looking forward to seeing what the future holds for my project.

Top comments (0)