DEV Community

Arash Jangali
Arash Jangali

Posted on

Successfully Integrating Google OAuth 2.0

Day 106 of my #365DaysOfCode challenge. Today, I spent my time debugging an issue related to integrating Google OAuth 2.0. Specifically, when attempting to sign in with Google on the frontend, I noticed that I was not being directed to the Google sign-in page as expected. Initially, I suspected a problem with the Google strategy code that I had implemented. However, I found that the issue was not there. I double-checked the endpoints and credentials, and everything appeared to be in order.

Suddenly, I realized that when I clicked the sign-in button on the frontend, it was actually taking me to a frontend endpoint, while my Google authentication was intended to be handled on the server-side (🤓)

As my clientside was running on localhost:3000, this adjustment allowed the authentication flow to work seamlessly. Once implemented, everything functioned as intended.

This experience served as a reminder to carefully consider the flow and communication between the frontend and backend components.

Top comments (0)