DEV Community

Cover image for Update on Contractr: Progress on User Authentication, User Profiles, and Chat Feature
Arash Jangali
Arash Jangali

Posted on

Update on Contractr: Progress on User Authentication, User Profiles, and Chat Feature

Hello everyone,

Day 74 of #100DaysOfCode

I am excited to provide an update on the progress I've been making on the Contractr project. Building a web application that connects freelancers with potential clients has been an exciting and challenging experience, but I am enjoying every bit of it.

Today, I've been working on implementing cookies to allow for successful user sign up and login functionality. It was not an easy task, but I am happy to report that I've made significant progress on this front. Users can now sign up and log in to their accounts with ease, and I am delighted to see how this feature has come together.

One of the most significant challenges I encountered was figuring out how to handle user authentication securely. However, through extensive research and testing, I was able to implement a robust encryption system that ensures user data is kept secure. I take great pride in this achievement, knowing that users can trust the application to keep their information safe.

Currently, I'm working on saving user profile information to the database and retrieving it as part of the cards to swipe on. While there have been some challenges in working with the database, I am confident that I'll be able to address them and get this feature up and running soon. This is a critical component of the Contractr app as it allows clients to easily find freelancers that meet their needs.

In addition to making progress on saving user profile information, I also worked on the chat feature, but it will be my main focus in the upcoming days. This feature will enable freelancers and clients to communicate with ease, which will improve the overall user experience. Although I haven't made significant progress on this front yet, I am excited to start working on it in the upcoming days.

Overall, I am pleased with the progress I've made so far on the Contractr project. While it has been challenging at times, it has been an enjoyable experience building this application. I am excited to continue building out this app and making it the best it can be, and I look forward to sharing more updates with you all soon.

Thank you for your interest in the Contractr project, and stay tuned for more updates.

Top comments (0)