DEV Community

Cover image for Building NextJs project, should I use tRPC or Server Actions with React Query?
Areeb ur Rub
Areeb ur Rub

Posted on

Building NextJs project, should I use tRPC or Server Actions with React Query?

Seeking Suggestions: tRPC vs. Next.js Server Actions for a Next.js Project

Both options seem promising, especially since I plan to use React Query and need type-safe query functions. I’d love to get some insights and suggestions from the community on which path to take.

I am comparing in this way

  1. Both have Type Safety
  2. Both can be Integrated with React Query
  3. Both can be easily used, but tRPC have to be installed and initialised on other hand Server Actions can be simply used by simply creating functions with "use server" directives.

Seeking Your Advice

It's clear that Server Actions are easier to implement and solves the problem the thing is that I am unable to figure out the trade offs I will be having by not using tRPC.

I'd love to hear about your experiences and recommendations. Your insights will be helping me make an informed decision. Please share your thoughts in the comments below!


Thanks in advance for your help!

Top comments (0)