DEV Community

ashleygraf_
ashleygraf_

Posted on

The "I can't tell" software testing heuristic.

As a tester, I would have my Dev Tools Network tab open at all times. As a software user, I don't.

Sometimes when testing, I'll act completely as a user would, and report that I can't tell whether or not I have saved a form, for example.

That's because we have expectations about software. One of them is about forms should behave, formed by years of using forms, and finding some easier to navigate, and others harder to navigate.

There are any one of at least three ways to know that a form hasn't saved

  • An error message appears somewhere you can see it when you click the submit button
  • You cannot click the submit button
  • There is no success message

If you don't see one of these, are you really confident that the saved or didn't save? Users should be feel comfortable when they use software,

What makes a minimum viable product? I think it's the minimum USABLE product. It's more viable, if you know for sure what you did, and that it's done. Even when it's internal, even ESPECIALLY when it's internal, it's important that it's obvious how to use it.

Top comments (0)