DEV Community

orio
orio

Posted on

Becoming a Developer in 15 weeks | My Journey Through a Coding Bootcamp and Should You Do It?

Today marks the first day of the last week of my 15 week Code Bootcamp and it's been quite the experience. Assuming you're reading this article because you have an interest in coding bootcamps, my hope is that this helps provide an inside look of what it's like to attend one.

Before Bootcamp And Why I Decided It Was Right For Me

To be straight first, I'm wasn’t entirely new to web development before starting this course. I have worked on some basic HTML and CSS projects before and I did take a few Udemy courses. My initial idea was to just learn entirely from home. I figured with Udemy courses being only $10-12 on sale and the multitude of online free resources available, I shouldn't have any issues learning everything online. However, I found out that it wasn't the best option for me.

While it is entirely possible to learn everything from home and probably for free. I didn't think it was right for me. A here are a few of my reasons:

  • Time: I already really enjoyed programming and I knew it was right for me. But, while looking into it, learning from home without much of a structured environment or curriculum pointing me in the right direction, wouldn’t be as painless as I thought it would be. Reading a lot of other blogs and came to realize it might take quite a bit longer than I anticipated. Plus I wasn't sure at what point I'd be ready to work.

  • Environment: One smaller thing bootcamps provided was the environment. Being able to socialize with people in the same position with similar mindsets and having instructors and coaches on standby appealed to me.

  • Career Services: Most bootcamps offer some sort of career services like helping you build a great resumé and online presence, mock interviews, and other such support while job searching.

  • Soft Skills: One major thing companies look for today is soft skills. Having always taught myself and being more of a shut in. I didn't want to be lacking any social skills or be in the position of my being able to explain my code or thought process to my coworkers.

After My Decision/Deciding Where I Should Go

After I figured out I wanted to attend a bootcamp. I spent a lot of time figuring out which bootcamp I wanted to go to. Even though it was a bit of a commute. I decided I should probably look for schools in San Francisco. I spent hours reading student reviews and blogs. Reading into each camps website carefully until it came down to two options. I went through the prep work of both camps, went through a personality and technical interview with both and was accepted by both schools. Ultimately I decided to go with Flatiron as more of a gut choice since both schools on paper seemed almost identical. However, my choice was mainly persuaded by the vibe I was given. Plus I was also able to check out the Flatiron campus before hand, while my other option I didn't really have that ability until after I wanted to make my decision.

During Bootcamp

Unfortunately towards the middle-to-end point of my program the Covid-19 pandemic stuck forcing us to work from home. But, during my time on campus, the only complaint I had was the commute. Traveling from the Central Valley to San Francisco took about 4 hours each day, 5 days/week. Other than that, I love every second of it. Of course at times I struggled and I tend to be the type who just likes to figured things on my own. But one thing I realized is asking for help is often the best thing to do if you start getting too stuck. Because often what might be challenging for you, someone might have a little more experience in it to help you where you might get confused. Or you just misspelled a variable and you just need a set of fresh eyes.

After Bootcamp?

Well I'm not quite sure yet, like most, my program offers career coaching and I'm just getting started on that. From just the one meeting I've had with my coach, I felt pretty confident that with their help, I'll be able to land a job within 6 months. But, my plan is to update this part when and if that time comes.

Should You Go To A Coding Bootcamp?

I would say it depends. Before asking that question, I feel you should first ask yourself if you really want to become a developer. Seek out real experiences from actual developers and find out what their daily life is like. While not trying to discredit "Day in the Life" videos, they often don't paint an accurate picture of an actual daily life. At least, that's what I've understood from the majority of developers who say otherwise. Also try practicing a bit at home first. Take a few Udemy courses (courses by Colt Steele are great) or theres also plenty of free options available.

But my answer is, if you answer to that question is "Yes", and you want an accelerated learning experience, have the savings or someone who can support you, and can afford it. I'd say a bootcamp for me was one of the greatest experiences of my life and it's a bit of a bitter sweet ending. While I'm a bit sad this is all over. I'm excited for the future I've been prepared for.

Top comments (0)