DEV Community

Cover image for Is anyone else interested in #esolangs?
Andrew (he/him)
Andrew (he/him)

Posted on

Is anyone else interested in #esolangs?

I'm endlessly fascinated by the variety of programming languages people seem to be able to come up with. Esolangs.org has become one of my favourite websites over the past few years. So I was wondering... is anyone else on Dev interested in esoteric programming languages?

I noticed that I'm the only person who's ever made a post with the #esolangs tag. Am I alone in my love for these misfits?


An esolang I recently found that I think is really cool is legit, a language where programs are defined by the commit messages in a Git repository graph. The structure of the graph and the content of the commit messages determines the function of the program (the contents of the repo itself are ignored).

A "Hello World!" program in legit looks like:

$ git log --graph --oneline
*   b63fd70 (HEAD -> master, origin/master, origin/HEAD) Merge pull request #1 from rohieb/master
|\  
| *   1f44c51 0
| |\  
| |/  
|/|   
* | b9e1e95 "Hello world\n"
| * fbb02fe "Hello world!\n"
|/  
*   8013037 (tag: reverse-loop) dup
|\  
| * 6883822 write 1 left [reverse-loop]
*   e0a4d04 (tag: print-loop) 1 right read dup
|\  
| * d646ef4 put [print-loop]
* 25a3a62 quit
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
kayis profile image
K

I gave a talk about the "Shakespear Programming Language" at university for the course "Modern Programming Languages".

I found the concept of having different variables being characters coming on the stage and assigning each other values via dialog an interesting concept.

Collapse
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)

I consider Shakespeare and Chef to be in the same category of esolangs, which have lots of extraneous "decoration" in order to look like something that's not a programming language.

Collapse
 
savagepixie profile image
SavagePixie

Esoteric languages are cool! One of these days I need to dive into whitespace.

Their only problem is that becoming good at one takes a lot of effort/time and doesn't make you more employable...

Collapse
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)

I love the idea of hiding a Whitespace program within another program. A C program that has a Whitespace program mixed in with it!

Collapse
 
ankitbeniwal profile image
Ankit Beniwal

Not just C but with Arnold C

Thread Thread
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)
Thread Thread
 
ankitbeniwal profile image
Ankit Beniwal

ENOUGH TALK

Collapse
 
vlasales profile image
Vlastimil Pospichal

I like Waduzitdo.

Collapse
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)

I've never heard of that one!

Collapse
 
awwsmm profile image
Andrew (he/him)

That's neat! And to have written it all in Assembly... I'm glad I was born after C was created.

Collapse
 
buinauskas profile image
Evaldas Buinauskas

I sometimes look at brainfuck and that's usually enough until the next time.

Collapse
 
ankitbeniwal profile image
Ankit Beniwal

Now try jsFuck.

Collapse
 
buinauskas profile image
Evaldas Buinauskas

When you think that JavaScript cannot become worse . 😀