DEV Community

Ayak22
Ayak22

Posted on

Learning to Touch Type: 2 Week Update

Over the last few weeks, I've been making an effort to actively learn to touch type. This should be a foundational skill which will help me in my other learning and allow me to type more with fewer mistakes. Here are my stats for the last week:

Time: 1 hour 6 seconds
Average WPM: 33
Average Accuracy: 93%
Level: 104

Here are a few things I learned this week:

  • It's good to focus on accuracy, but time spent typing is even better. I kept restarting a level as soon as I made a single error and this just got frustrating. Now I'm finishing the level even if I made a mistake.
  • Ideally I'd never look at the keyboard, but I can still improve without forcing myself not to. Similar to the first point, I was being very strict but this just slowed my progress and I wasn't improving. The more time spent using particulR keys, the less you'll naturally look down.
  • Progress will slow, but it's all muscle memory so keep at it and you'll get better.
  • It's important to practice touch typing in everyday computer use. Just very slow and frustrating!

Top comments (0)