DEV Community

Aymeric Le Feyer
Aymeric Le Feyer

Posted on • Updated on

🎲 Boardie Journal #01 - My new side project

This is a new series of articles in which I will share my thoughts, my accomplishments, my mistakes and my fears. Welcome to the logbook of the Boardie app.

❤️ Let’s mix two passions

I like board games, I have many of them and I like spend time playing with friends. I've been thinking about developing an application related to board games for a while now. 🎯 The technical objective behind this project is to learn new things, to try to improve myself in UI/UX and to develop a project from beginning to end. I like code and I like games, let’s have fun !

🎲 Features

Basically the app won’t be revolutionary, I will develop simple features like

  • Manage collections of game (wishlists, owned games, played games)
  • Give a rating on a game
  • Suggest games related to ratings, mechanics & themes of games (will be a huge part)
  • Create parties with friends & games, history of parties …

🧑‍💻 Tech

Let’s take importants choices.

📱 The mobile part won’t surprise anyone, I picked Flutter for fast and cross-platform development.

📚 I hesitated for a long time for the database between a graph base and a classic relational base, I think a graph base could be really nice, because I need to make relations between games and games, users and users, games and users… A graph should be perfect in this case !

But I picked a classic relational database: Postgres, because of the backend !

💻 Indeed, I decided to learn a new backend : Serverpod. It’s a Flutter-thought backend written in Dart, allowing to share a part of the logic between front & back.

➡️ https://serverpod.dev/

Serverpod comes with a lot of features (authentication, cache, messaging …) and it uses Postgres database.

🚀 For this project, I want to discover the power of Serverpod !

✏️ I will write a lot of articles about Serverpod because I want to share everything I learned !

👀 Watch the next issues to be kept informed of the progress of the project, and to learn more about Flutter and Serverpod !

Top comments (0)