DEV Community

El Bruno for Microsoft Azure

Posted on • Originally published at elbruno.com on

#VSCode – Thunder Client, excellent alternative to Postman for HTTP Requests @Code

Hi !

Postman is a great tool to emulate HTTP Requests. I used Postman a lot when I create webapps that run Computer Vision models to analyze images.

However, in order to keep things more simple, I decided to test several extensions in Visual Studio Code, as alternatives to Postman. And, Thunder Client is one that make me 😁.

Thunder Client is a lightweight Rest API Client Extension for Visual Studio Code, hand-crafted by Ranga Vadhineni with simple and clean design.

And, it’s super easy to use ! In example, I’m developing an Azure Function, and while debugging I can access the function locally at http://localhost:7071/api/AzCv05.

This is a simple screenshot of a POST HTTP call, including a local image in the body, and the JSON response from the call.

thunderclient demo calling a local azure function

Amazing extension, and as a bonus, no need to leave Visual Studio Code.

Happy coding!

Greetings

El Bruno

More posts in my blog ElBruno.com.


Top comments (0)