DEV Community

Calin Baenen
Calin Baenen

Posted on

HotTea: v0.12a released. (AND I want feedback).

I've released another mini-update (containing 3 new features), and as it slowly starts to inch closer and closer to my envisionment PLUS MORE, I want to use this as a point to benchmark my project.

So, if you'd like to help me, please, try out the latest version of HotTea, and give me feedback.
I'd love to hear what you all have to say about it, and how well it lives of to the hype, and expectations of being an okay addition to JS, to make it more like a typed language.

Thanks for reading(, testing, and providing feedback)!
Cheers!

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
shadowtime2000 profile image
shadowtime2000

As Jon Randy said, no browser natively supports Typescript. Also Typescript becomes JS at compile time with little to no runtime overhead so I think you may not know exactly what Typescript is. It seems like HotTea seems to be more of a runtime library for schema validations than a bridge for Typescript.

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

Any feedback with the library, and its features?

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

I know what TS is, and I know no browser supports it (hopefully I can add "(yet)" to that), but since you can't write TS natively in the browser, I came up with this fulfill a similar purpose.

Collapse
 
shadowtime2000 profile image
shadowtime2000

HotTea seems to be really different than TS because it seems to be very runtime heavy and could possibly slow applications down too.

Thread Thread
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

Okay.

Collapse
 
izio38 profile image
izio38

Hello Calin.

Just a small advice about the versioning. I think it's better to use git tag to manage version and not use sub-directory on the repository.

Good luck for your new project !

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

How do I do that? Also, what's wrong with subdirs?
I'm only doing what I'm familiar with.

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

If you intended to use for browser, you should consider a CDN.

Or just hot-linking with GitHub Pages.

If I remembered correctly, JSDoc doesn't show in browser as well.

Also, consider putting how-to in README.md

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

A Javascript library that intends to bridge the gap of browsers not natively supporting Typescript.

?

No browser natively supports Typescript

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

That's the point of the library. It's literally stated there.

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen • Edited

None of this is feedback.
I don't wanna sound greedy or elfish, or whatever "sin"/thing may relate to the following, but, I can't say I'm not disappointed.

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

To clarify, this is feedback, and I appreciate it. But I was hoping for feedback on the libraries features.

Collapse
 
izio38 profile image
izio38

There is no documentation, no example. People won't try to decrypt the code you wrote just to give you feedback. Sorry.

Thread Thread
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

I left doc-comments?
Do people not read doc-comments? I also gave examples in my first post.

Well, would you be able to test it if I provided an "examples.js" in the repo?