DEV Community

Bailey Pardee
Bailey Pardee

Posted on

Comparing Web Component Frameworks

In this post, I will be comparing the commonalities between boilerplates for React, Angular, VueJS, and StencilJS. Additionally, I will be providing my opinion as to which is the easiest developer experience when starting out and which I would prefer to use.

Similarities

A similarity of the VueJS, Angular, React, and StencilJS boilerplates is that they all contain a src or app directory. These directories hold the components needed to give the app functionality. Additionally, they all contain the JavaScript, CSS, and HTML files to create the necessary components. For these boilerplates, Angular and StencilJS both use typescript while VueJS and React do not.

Easiest Developer Experience

Of these four frameworks, VueJS appears to be the easiest developer experience to get going. It only requires a few steps to create a basic functional app with VueJS. In Vue you can have the Javascript and HTML written within the same file. This helps with easier organization and navigation around the codebase.

Which One I'd Choose

If I were to start building an "app" tomorrow, I'd use React. I am new to all of these web component frameworks, so there are a few key aspects I look at in deciding. React is commonly used by a large number of companies in a variety of different ways. As a result of this, there is a wide array of information and tutorials that can be found online to support the use of React at all skill levels.

For the Angular boilerplate I followed, click here.
To view my group's organization page, click here.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rafeqm profile image
Muhammad Rafiqi

Can't you make useful post?