DEV Community

Cover image for My Expectations and Experience at Naijahacks
Blessing Edet Christopher
Blessing Edet Christopher

Posted on

My Expectations and Experience at Naijahacks

My Expectations and Experience at Naijahacks 2019.
Edet Blessing Christopher
Twitter: @bbbclue
Follow
December 17, 2019·

NaijaHacks is an online and in person hackaton hosted in Nigeria,the goal is to build solutions for Education, Housing, Job Creation and Citizen Safety
There GOAL IS TO INSPIRE A GENERATION OF NIGERIAN INNOVATORS TO USE TECHNOLOGY TO CREATE SOLUTIONS FOR THEIR COMMUNITIES.
NaijaHacks kicks off online from December 7th, 2019 and wraps up with a Demo day December 14th 2019 .Top teams selected from the online portion of the hackaton will meet, demo , and receive prizes on December 17th, 2019 in Lagos, Nigeria. Lots of amazing prizes to be won, plus a full day of networking, learning, great food and lots of fun with our international team of Mentors, Speakers and Judges from the US, UK, Canada and Nigeria.
I got to know about a hackathon called Naijahacks 3 months ago while surfing the net.The first thing that got me excited was the fact that it was tagged “Lagos Naijahacks 2019”.
I always got interested in hackathons because I knew there was always something new to learn and someone new to meet. Learning to me has no boundaries as far as one’s mind was always open.
So, I started with online registeration, then waited for one month to receive acceptance mail, after the mail I accepted my confirmation and fill others important details like filling personal information, uploading of c.v, and applying for accomodation and transportation cost. Then I received a mail to choose or form aleast(maximum of 3 teams), which included popoola ISIAKA, Ayola felix and myself, to receiving slack invites to join a channel that housed all participants virtually and also connected them to their mentors. Whatapps group was created by popoola ISIAKA and we the rest joined to ni the process of our project.
I had the idea,they had the skills in terms of python and data scientists.We came up with Student management system.An e-learning plaform that helped lecturer keep accurate data base with resources and other vitals to aid their work.
The duration for building a solution lasted from 7th to 17th of December 2019. Areas of specialization had earlier been stated to be Housing, Education, and job creation.
My team and I put in our best efforts and also consulted mentors that had been assigned to each team by the founder of Naijahacks.
Credits from digital ocean,twillo etc and a .tech domain were given out to each team. All teams were instructed to submit their projects and also place on GitHub before 11:45 pm on 23rd Nigeria for review which was later on extended to 11.45am of the following day.
At the registration stand I was given T shirt, lots of sovernier.
The demo day was split in 2 ; 17th of December 2019 was for all teams to defend their projects before judges ,25th for the top 5 teams to do a presentation before major persons in the business, tech and entertainment industries.
Several teams emerged winners of various categories, and gifts were awarded alongside certificates for each participant.
Naijahacks booked 2 days accomodation for we selected participants.
My team (Vision builders) won 2 prizes not limited to Nexom T shirt and I learnt a few opportunity in course of building our solution, collaboration being a major.
Naijahacks is the biggest hackathon I’ve participated in so far and I must applaud Mr Uchi Uchibeke for coming up with this great vision.
While there is still a large room for improvement seeing this is the maiden edition, this event linked me with new people and fresh opportunities which will forever be an asset to my skills.
Special thanks to all our sponsors that partnered with Naijahacks to make this event more interesting by provision of swags, scholarships and intern opportunities.
I also appreciate deeply passion incubator and coven labs for their investment in me.
Naijahacks is an asset to Nigeria and we hope to leverage on provided opportunities.
Hackathons
Edet Blessing Christopher
WRITTEN BY

Edet Blessing Christopher
Follow
Accountant| social Entrepreneus| Data Scientist

Top comments (0)