DEV Community

Bertil Muth
Bertil Muth

Posted on

Order of items in reading list

When I add an item to the reading list in the dev.to iPhone app, and then I look at the list, the order seems random.

So I end up searching for items I added recently. Is this the expected behavior, and is there a way to change it to show latest added first?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Hey Bertil,

I know we're working on updating our Reading List section. This sounds like it must be a bug of sorts as it's also my understanding that posts are meant to be listed in the order of which you bookmarked them (or possibly by their post date).

I'm also seeing the same issue as @itsasine ... Oct/Nov posts have bumped their way up my reading list. This seems weird.

I'll flag this to the team.

Thanks for asking this question!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Following up, I wrote a bug report about this - github.com/thepracticaldev/dev.to/...

Appreciate you raising this issue.

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

My understanding, as a Reading List power user (almost 2k items), is that the list is purely on when you bookmarked them. There may also be a mechanism for "bumping" it up if the article has been updated since you bookmarked it, but I haven't looked at the code to see.

Collapse
 
bertilmuth profile image
Bertil Muth

Interesting. For me, it doesn’t sort by the date I bookmarked it. It would be really interesting what the cause is.

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

I just double-checked it on my Reading List, and it almost looks like a whole slew of Oct/Nov type stuff got reindexed which prompted that "bumping" I mentioned. I'm seeing Nov 2018 then Oct 2018 so it's not by date or select order. But it did update very recently... huh, weird.