DEV Community

binarybill
binarybill

Posted on

Web App Help

I want to create the following web app.

Web App description: This web app will have 4 buttons on the screen for phone1. Each button has a unique color and when its pressed, it will change the background color on the screen of phone2.

So the reason I want to do this as a web app is that I've already done it as an iOS app using Multipeer Connectivity... and I like the idea of not having to download a native app and including my android friends. I think this is just a simple app to get started with web app development, but I'm a newbie and feel a little unsure of my current direction.

I'd like some advice on what technology to use for this project. My research has led me to websockets to accomplish this instead of socket.io or webRTC. So here are some of the questions that are in my head:

Is websockets the right tech?
Will websockets let me connect more than 2 devices?
Do I need to use node.js too?
Will iOS Safari support the tech I use (I have iOS 11.4)?
Where can I host this web app for free?

Top comments (1)

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.