DEV Community

Cover image for ShouldIKeepWatching - Digital Ocean Hackathon
Benjamin
Benjamin

Posted on • Updated on

ShouldIKeepWatching - Digital Ocean Hackathon

What I built

A web app to help you decide whether or not to invest any more time in a TV show you're watching. No one wants to waste their time on bad TV!

Category Submission: Random Roulette

App Link

https://shouldikeepwatching-kpcfk.ondigitalocean.app/

Screenshots

hackathon_screen_1
hackathon_screen_2
hackathon_screen_3

Link to Source Code

https://github.com/bmpickford/shouldikeepwatching

Permissive License

MIT

Background

With great new TV shows coming out every other week, it's hard to know what's actually worth watching, especially if you're going to be investing your time in lots of seasons. I'm always hesitant to start a TV show that I know is going to go downhill (e.g. Heroes, Dexter) so I want to know upfront how bad it gets. This heatmap I created for the TV shows, gives a quick visual representation of a TV show so I know what I'm in for.

How I built it

I used NextJS (for the first time) to try and explore the realm of SSR using React. It was a suprisingly nice developer experience, and a much smaller learning curve than expected. Will definitely look to NextJS for future projects that could benefit from SSR.

Top comments (0)