DEV Community

Bing Pan
Bing Pan

Posted on

Git Rebase

I primarily focused on removing redundant codes and functions because initially when I first designed and implemented my tool, I separated the command line parsing from URL parsing by using two objects, ArgParser and LinkValidator, to handle those functionalities. There is only one static variable β€œMAXNUMPATHS” in my tool, which is defined in the class LinkChecker in which the main() function is located. It is used by other classes via static imports.

I believe in making atomic commits to make my development process to be easier to perform. After watching the professor’s video instruction on how to perform an interactive rebase, my actual practice is quite smooth. Of course, I did find some bugs while I was modifying my code. Since all of them happened at the level of local methods, all are easy to be fixed. However, I did run into instances previously that I had to modify multiple locations across 3 to 4 classes in order to accommodate the data type change of a method’s parameter.

Since I am using Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) version 2 for Windows 10, the change of my project history without running into too much trouble. Of course, I primarily relied on using Vim rather than Eclipse.

Top comments (0)