DEV Community

BrainRepo
BrainRepo

Posted on

I am tired of hearing banalities about remote working

This article was previously hosted on brainrepo.dev and was written on January 30, 2023, at 03:57 PM.

All opinions I express here are my ones.*

As you know, I’ve been working for a full-remote tech company, and I love to do it!

I explain and share my opinion very calmly and moderately, but when I read statements that trivialize crucial topics, I lose self-control and rage.

That’s what happened a few days ago reading a post on LinkedIn.

But let’s see those bullshit one by one.

Come to think of it: the world is not built by people teleworking…
We want to invent and experiment with new ways of working.
Because, yes, the world is changing…
We want to train young people in our business on the ground.
We want to be there for our customers.
We want to share technical opinions in an open space that may be a little noisy but is full of life…
We want to shake hands.

We want to laugh at the coffee machine.
We don’t want this “trend” that isolates people.
It is a sad fate to don’t leave your home anymore!
Locked up at home… without an electronic bracelet… whatever 🤔…
So, yes, once again, I may push away the “charentaise” sellers and the “pilou pilou pyjama” suppliers.
We at **** are going back to real life.

And if you like living into cloistering, ordering online and living as an avatar in the metaverse, I think we’ll never meet, and that’s certainly not a bad thing!

Ok, firstly, a deep breath,

the world is changing, and how people interact also, I am not a 100% digital life fan, but I am for a good balance between the digital and physical parts. As you see, I don’t speak about real life because real life also contains a digital side!

“We want to be there for our customers”

what does it mean? Your customer needs your physical presence. Why? What can your body give more to your customer (😂)?

I think your customer prefers your attention, sensitivity, patience, expertise, pragmatism and effectiveness.

We can give all things with honest communication, commitment and empathy in front of a webcam (mandatorily on) or with a well-written email!

“We want to share technical opinions in an open space that may be a little noisy but is full of life.”

Hei man, if you would see our slack channels, where hundreds of people share opinions, experiences and their pets’ photos, you would understand. And you know, being a fully remote company allows us to amplify that because, in the channel, you see the true diversity, people from different places, with various religions or gender speaking together with respect, pleasure and open-mindedness.

I was born in a little village in the centre of Sardinia. Say to me when I could have had such an opportunity! Thanks to remote working, I have this opportunity and defend it with all my might!

Speaking about the opportunity, in a world without remote working, how a guy/girl can work for an international company and be part of a global impact without living in his/her hometown? This has a significant effect, you know? Little villages are dying, and people following the occasion are sacrificing their quality of life!

“We want to shake hands. We want to laugh at the coffee machine.”

How strong are the relations constructed in front of the coffee machine?

Quality rather than quantity determines the power of our relationships.

I am just coming back from a very intense company retirement with activities that helped me reach my limits, and I am pretty sure that the experiences I shared with my colleagues are stronger than years of coffee machine times! I can call them friends after seeing them just one time!

These shared experiences are necessary for professional remote working and not only that.

We at **** are going back to real life.

And if you like living into cloistering, ordering online and living as an avatar in the metaverse, I think we’ll never meet, and that’s certainly not a bad thing!

I am not isolated. I am remote and connected to the world.

If I am living with an electronic bracelet, I am happy to have it because my jail is the entire world!

Ps: There are another thousand good reasons why remote working well-made is a good thing, but I am nervous, tired, and at midnight. I’m going to bed. See you!

Top comments (0)