DEV Community

Bregwin Jogi
Bregwin Jogi

Posted on

Contributing to Open Source Projects #3

This week, I worked on updating the GitHub Actions workflow for the Mozdownload repository, a download tool created by Mozilla for Firefox and Thunderbird. The GitHub issue I decided to work on was to adjust the Dependabot configuration to automate Python dependency updates related to Node.js actions.

Image description

The issue was well-documented, so I had a clear idea of where to make the changes. The goal was to ensure that Dependabot would automatically update these dependencies instead of manually making the updates.

What I did:

Image description

Checked the current setup:

  • I looked at the existing dependabot.yml file to understand how it was configured.
  • I also reviewed GitHub’s documentation to confirm the correct approach.

Made the required changes:

  • I updated the configuration to run weekly checks for dependency updates.

Opened a pull request:

After making the changes, I submitted a pull request explaining what I did.

Surprisingly, I received quick feedback on the pull request. The issue author responded promptly, suggesting a minor modification, which they implemented themselves. Shortly after, the pull request was successfully merged into the repository.

Image description

Looking forward to contributing to another project next week!

Top comments (0)