DEV Community

Brian Lam
Brian Lam

Posted on

removebg API Wrapper

Hi,

I thought I would write about a project that I built as a student. While I may not have made as substantial of a project as many standout graduate, I would nonetheless want to share what I've made. About a year ago, I wrote an API wrapper for remove.bg after being interested in the service. I initially found this service being announced as in beta on Reddit and I thought it was a very cool idea. The idea of removing a background from an image in seconds instead of using PhotoShop to trace everything and erase it was almost magical.

After seeing this service and noticing that there as a community section in which people contributed their own API wrappers. I was inspired by them and decided to write a Python API wrapper for remove.bg.

My API wrapper aims to simplify this process of interacting with this service by making the process of removing backgrounds from an image as simple as three to four lines in Python. I think most of the code is pretty self-explanatory. Check out my project here https://github.com/brilam/remove-bg

Top comments (0)