DEV Community

Bryanjazo
Bryanjazo

Posted on

Sinatra Where Coders Are Found

So this is it, already my second project. This project was definitely way different than my last one but in such an amazing way. This project made me realize how much I love coding and pursuing my career as a software engineer. This project consists of a series of workouts a user can review as long as the individual is logged in. The individual at the start of the project has two options one to log in and one to create an account. If the user does not have an account he/she will not be able to use any functionalities of the website even if they try to manually type in the endpoints. Once the user has created their account they'll be able to go into the site and be able to course through the pre-installed workouts and read the description so the user can be informed on how the exercises are done. If the user would like to create their own workout they'll have the full ability to add and edit the custom workouts! and the great part about this is that it'll only be shown to their specific workout page and not any other user who has created one as well. One of the biggest challenges had to be getting the security of the site full proof and not having any bugs where the user can delete my whole database or the pre-saved workouts I provided for the user, but with a little bit of patience, I managed to understand where I was going wrong and update my code to fix it. Furthermore, this project did not only help me build my skills in programming but taught me the importance of being detailed and precautions so my site won't be faulty and put my site and other user's information at risk.

Top comments (0)