DEV Community

Cover image for Feeling morbid: How do you manage developer assets for a will?
Bugsy Sailor
Bugsy Sailor

Posted on • Updated on

Feeling morbid: How do you manage developer assets for a will?

Knock on wood, but hopefully I have many years ahead of me yet. But this is a real and growing concern of mine, What happens to my digital assets when I die?

There are the digital photos, social media accounts, and etc. But for the sake of this conversation, let's focus on developer assets such as websites, respositories, account logins, etc.

The ego in most of us has some amount of desire to leave a legacy. For many it's their children. Not having any, with no indiciation that I will, I see a number of my web projects as my little babies. The ego in me would absolutely love to see them carry on after I perish. But how do I plan the succession of all the logins, databases, 3rd-party services, respositories, and servers?

I would love to open a discussion with a few specific questions

  1. What steps can be taken to ensure your websites and repositories continue to live on?
  2. Do you have a will that addresses the handover of these assets?
  3. Do you have people in your life you've asked to keep certain web/dev projects live?
  4. Have you created additional documentation for a project to keep it live after you perish?

I hope the photo isn't too morbird. It comes from day 124 of photographing every sunrise of 2019.

Top comments (0)