DEV Community

Buxton Philp-Preuss
Buxton Philp-Preuss

Posted on

New Adventures in Open Source Development

About Me

Hello! My name is Buxton, I was born, raised, and currently live in Ontario. I am enrolled in the Computer Programming and Analysis program at Seneca College in Toronto, and in my fifth semester at the moment. I am taking the open source development course because I have heard time and time again that the best practice for improving my programming skills is to work on real world, tangible projects.

Term Accomplishments

Semester five is the first semester where we have the opportunity to choose our own “pro-courses”, courses that are self-determined, rather than the mandatory ones we have completed so far in our program. With this choice of courses I wanted to choose a class where I could get as much real world experience as possible, so selecting this was a no-brainer. I am unsure of my programming aspirations at this point in my education. I enjoy programming so far, but I don’t know where to place that energy, I find myself unable to create ideas for projects, and I hope this course gives me inspiration. I am completely open to trying different projects to get a greater idea of what is out there, and not having to start from scratch takes a great deal of anxiety off my chest.

Trending Repo

I chose libphonenumber as the trending repository, here is an open source project created by Google for a very important utility: “Parsing, formatting, and validating phone numbers for all countries/regions of the world.”. All you need is a phone number, a country, and the locale for the phone number and the program can check the validity of the number. Though it seems like a simple concept there is quite a lot of work done on it, so much that at my current knowledge a lot of this is alien to me. There are also some demonstrations available for you to test the functionality yourself.

While this project is not in the realm of cutting edge technologies, I see the value in learning and understanding it. This project gives me a glimpse into how much work goes into just a small part of a larger whole. Viewing this repository is a little daunting to me, I hope through completing this course that I can look at a project like this and it makes a little more sense; that I can develop an overall understanding for the “architecture” of projects.

Top comments (0)