DEV Community

Caleb Frieze
Caleb Frieze

Posted on

TurboRepo Next.js Build Error

I was converting an existing NextJs app into a repo that is managed by TurboRepo to give the ability to add more apps to our frontend system. Everything went great and was super smooth until I tried actually running the build scripts. I copied the configuration settings exactly from the docs and a couple sample repos that I found, yet still I had a unique problem.
Here is a snippet of the error:

app:build: - info Creating an optimized production build...
app:build: - info Compiled successfully
app:build: - info Collecting page data...
app:build: TypeError: Cannot read properties of undefined (reading 'P')
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I followed the stack trace and noticed that it was trying to do a webpack import of a component that I created in a UI package. That should be fine, however upon further investigation, I hadn't realized I exported the story from Storybooks. At this time, I don't really have a need to explicitly export stories from ui into any other project, so I just removed it. That seemed to fix the error. Now webpack builds NextJs just fine, and the app functions the same as it did before I made it a monorepo.

Hopefully this helps someone else!

Top comments (0)