DEV Community

CallmeHongmaybe
CallmeHongmaybe

Posted on

How do you guys deal with wandering mind at work ?

When it comes to tackling hard coding questions or hard tasks at work, I often find my mind wandering somewhere else.
In situations like these, I could only hold about 5-10 minutes max, and every time I wander I often feel guilty and even anxious. That my performance would drop because of it.
I looked around my colleagues and all of them seemed to be attuned with their work. But I guess they wouldn't survive a day without cups of coffee on their desks.
But do any of you feel the same way and how do you stay focused when confronted by difficult work ?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

I find my mind wanders only when I am not interested in the work. I suspect this is true for you too.

We can brute-force our way through easy work but cognitively wear out trying do that that for too long on deep challenging work. This is not an insult -- this is a realization that leads to an actionable piece of advice.

My advice for finding the focus we need: Find a reason to enjoy where you want to go. Discover how to do that and you go wherever you want whenever you want.

Collapse
 
callmehongmaybe profile image
CallmeHongmaybe

Thanks for the solid advice.