DEV Community

Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

Following the Blind

When blind people read brail, they trace their right index finger over a line of text and closely follow it with their left index finger.

I imagine that the right finger is priming the reader's brain; narrowing the range of possible interpretations. Then the left finger proceeds over the same characters with context that it inherits from the right finger.

I'm starting to run into terms and ideas that are completely new to me (method overriding, upcasting, downcasting, etc). Progress feels sluggish at the moment.

The Brail Approach

First pass
I'm going to briskly traverse a tutorial while making flashcards for unfamiliar terms. If I reach the end not knowing how to apply any of the concepts I won't panic or feel bad.

Second pass
I'll restart the training module having made the terms and concepts at least slightly familiar.

97

Top comments (0)