DEV Community

Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

To Write or Have Written

There is a common question amongst writers: "Would you rather write or have written?"

Essentially, do you prefer a) the act of writing or b) the fruits of creating a financial and critical success.

I keep looking at the stack of technologies that I'm required to master in order to apply for job 'x'. I keep thinking about the last couple years and the places where I could have fit in a few hours / week to be where I want to be right now.

But I didn't

I have consistently chosen the shinier thing; TV, video games, decent paying job with no future... I would prefer to 'have written.' This is a fundamental flaw. I haven't solved it yet, but I'm going to work on it now that I've pulled it into the spotlight.

Top comments (0)