DEV Community

Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

Half-baked knowledge

This video is (I think) targeted towards new language learners. If feels applicable with coding as well.

It further supports my initiative to make multiple passes on difficult / new material and to move on without fully understanding.

The word the is hard to define or understand. If I had put all my effort into defining the before learning to speak any other word then my growth would have been stunted. By moving on and partially understanding thousands of words I've been able to put the in the necessary context to give it meaning.

Likewise, downcasting means little to me at the moment. I made an honest attempt to understand it, and now my strategy is to cover enough ground where I find myself needing to downcast. Then I can revisit a concept that is already slightly familiar.

96

Top comments (0)