DEV Community

Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

The first obstacle is me

About a year ago I was struggling with the dry, lifeless and poorly formatted material provided in my online college course.

I started seeking out youtube videos and found a channel that I loved (). I liked it so much that I purchased his 12 hour Java mastery course.

It is a year later and I still haven't completed it. Why? Because once I finish the videos I will be responsible (in my mind at least) for having "mastered" Java.

Also, my next obstacle will be to DO SOMETHING. Right now I have this cushy next step of following a tutorial. When I'm done with the course, I feel like I'll have to sever my own umbilical cord. It is easy to make progress now that I know what I was afraid of.

To anyone who stumbles upon my writing, the best advice I can give is to reflect often. Know yourself and you can shortcut through your own similarly dumb none-sense.

Top comments (0)