DEV Community

Cover image for Using Current Date and Time In VS Code Snippets
Chase Adams
Chase Adams

Posted on • Originally published at chaseadams.io on

Using Current Date and Time In VS Code Snippets

Previously when generating new blog articles, adding dates to Markdown frontmatter was a manual step that required me to:

  • Determine the date
  • Convert what I read into the date format I use for frontmatter

As of VS Code release 1.20, Snippets have access to the current date and time with one of the following variables:

  • CURRENT_YEAR
  • CURRENT_YEAR_SHORT
  • CURRENT_MONTH
  • CURRENT_DATE
  • CURRENT_HOUR
  • CURRENT_MINUTE
  • CURRENT_SECOND

Now if I want a frontmatter "date" for Markdown for the current year, month and day (YYYY-MM-DD), I can add the following to my snippet:

date: \"$CURRENT_YEAR-$CURRENT_MONTH-$CURRENT_DATE\"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Using the published date of this post, the expanded snippet produces:

date: "2018-07-24"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
malcolmkee profile image
Malcolm Kee

Thanks for this :)

Collapse
 
integr8or profile image
Mark Stouffer

I don't see the snippet, "fm"?