DEV Community

Cover image for Spam posts in Dev
Chilarai
Chilarai

Posted on

Spam posts in Dev

Suddenly, I see a lot of spam posts here with services promoting their customer care numbers like this one

https://dev.to/roygorav56/mayra-studio-customer-care-number-7318720711-7384823438-4198

Just because you want SEO ranks, you can post anything. What the heck?

You are not adding anything meaningful to this community with your customer care numbers

Cant we do something about this?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Hello! On behalf of the DEV team, thank you for your help in surfacing and reporting these accounts.

Our team is both proactively seeking these accounts out and responding to complaints around the clock. We are also talking through a more permanent fix but in the meantime, we are banishing users and their posts/comments from the site as we find them.

Thanks again for your help in making DEV a positive, helpful, and spam-free environment for all!

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Thanks. I think atleast you should prohibit posting phone numbers using some script in the user input to start with

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Thanks for this thought! I will communicate it to the rest of our team :)

Collapse
 
tylerauerbeck profile image
Tyler Auerbeck

I've been doing something similar -- just reporting them as I see them and then blocking the user (to at least clean up my own feed). But really since I've seen so many and have been reporting so many of them, I'm wondering what is actually being done about this. Am I just creating my own spam stream to whoever moderates that report queue ? What actually happens to those users once they're reported?

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai

Seriously I dont know what happens to the reported posts. But today, it's like anything.... the volume of spams in such a short span of time. Couldnt even see a sane post in the latest section for some time. Something needs to be done to this

Collapse
 
darkdebo profile image
Debojyoti Chakraborty • Edited

Hey I am also facing these nonsense customer care number I already reported them but more are coming in my feed which is annoying.Take some action.I think they are running some kind of automated script to post and comment.Can you fix it by creating some bot like in slack to block the spam message accounts.

After some inspection I found that these accounts are opened in twitter,twitter also suspended some of them.

Collapse
 
pavelloz profile image
Paweł Kowalski • Edited

Is this the end of dev? Killed by couple Rohits and Kumars bots posting webhooks? ;) Oh the irony :)

Collapse
 
chilarai profile image
Chilarai • Edited

Funny. But I was wondering the same. If something is not done soon, it will kill the site