DEV Community

Ali Raza
Ali Raza

Posted on

Creating an open source DAW - part 1

As a developer, I have always been fascinated by digital audio workspaces (DAWs) and the endless possibilities they offer for creating and manipulating sound. That is why I am excited to announce my latest project: an open-source DAW built using JavaScript and HTML, packaged in a single downloadable HTML file.

The goal of this project is to create a simple, user-friendly DAW that can be run offline and on any device with a browser. Some of the features I hope to implement include:

  • A record button that exports audio in the WAV format
  • A basic synthesizer that can receive live MIDI data from a MIDI output device
  • A recorder that can capture audio from the default computer microphone

I am reaching out to the community for help and collaboration on this project. While I am experienced in JavaScript, I am still learning and would welcome any contributions, ideas, or feedback. This project is built on the open-source spirit, and I am excited to see what we can create together.

One of the main reasons for choosing a single HTML file is its convenience and ease of use. It can be easily downloaded and run offline, eliminating the need for any additional setup. Additionally, this format allows the DAW to be run on any device with a browser, making it accessible to a wide range of users.

Stay tuned for updates on this project, and please feel free to reach out if you are interested in contributing or have any questions. I am excited to see where this project goes and can't wait to share it with the world.

You can view the current demo on my website:
https://www.aliraza.cloud/apps/cloudcore-daw

Or alternatively find the code on GitHub:
https://github.com/cloudmaking/CloudCore

Sadly I have been sick on and off for the past week so I haven't had much time of motivation to code, looking forward to getting back at it soon, if you do want to contribute or help feel free to DM me on Twitter or Instagram @cloudmaking

As this is an ongoing project, make sure to follow me so you can stay up to date. Thank you for Reading and Have an amazing day!

Top comments (0)