DEV Community

Cover image for "Pivoting to Tech from Biomedical Science": CodeNewbie Podcast S25E1
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

"Pivoting to Tech from Biomedical Science": CodeNewbie Podcast S25E1

We are back y'all!!!!

In the first episode of our 25th season of the CodeNewbie Podcast, @saronyitbarek talks about making a major career change and the significance of laying a strong foundation with with Marley Anthony, Software Engineer at Bench Accounting.

Marley is a software engineer, photographer, and outdoor enthusiast based in Vancouver, BC. He love tech and spending time outside riding bikes or hiking! Tune in to gain valuable perspectives on strategies for landing that all-important internship, fostering growth, and embracing the ongoing pursuit of knowledge.


Or, listen wherever you normally get your podcasts!


WOW we are happy to be back for another season.

Make sure to follow us on your preferred platform if you haven't already!

And beyond all— happy coding y'all!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
baspin94 profile image
Bianca Aspin

Thank you for this episode! I’d already had this podcast bookmarked to try out for ages but hadn't yet, so I figured now would be as good a time as ever to listen and hopefully learn something that could help me on my journey, since I’d read in the newsletter that it touches on imposter syndrome, and I’m continuing to grapple with that as a recent bootcamp grad on the job hunt. This first episode did not disappoint, and I will be back for future episodes (and working through the backlog).

Marley’s story resonates with me because he went through a similar journey to mine (as well as other bootcamp grads I know): going to college for a completely different field, finding out after graduating and working for a while that the area he went to school for wasn’t for him, and then taking the plunge with coding bootcamp to switch into software engineering (at a time when the job market for junior developers was/is not very welcoming).

Since graduating from bootcamp in April, I’ve struggled to figure out how to network with others in this field because, as my imposter syndrome says, “What do I have to offer?” I appreciated hearing how Marley landed his first role after posting on LinkedIn at least once a week to discuss articles that he’d found useful or open up about what he was currently learning or working on. That latter part is an area of growth for me; I’ve always had an easier time sharing a finished product than my work-in-progress. I’ll continue to work on that. However, helping others in my circle by sharing what I’ve found helpful seems like a much less daunting way to get started. Maybe I can help someone solve a similarly challenging problem by sharing, and along the way, I can promote the wonderful resources that talented, caring people in the developer community are creating every day (like this podcast!).

Collapse
 
dannyjrt profile image
Daniel Todd

I feel this is so relatable. I went to medical school for a year, and unfortunately did not like it. Now, transitioning into web development and I feel this speaks volumes. Thank you for sharing!