DEV Community

Noa Cohen
Noa Cohen

Posted on

Joining the Open Source Development Course

I recently got to know Gabor Szabo through a shared colleague. Luckily, he invited me to join his Open Source Development Course.

I am currently researcher and lecturer at the Azrieli College of Engineering, teaching several courses including "introduction to computer science", "introduction to data science" and "computational biology".

I'd love to contribute to the open source community so I am excited to take this course. As a computational biology researcher and a Python developer I often use open-source python packages, as well as develop such packages for biology and bioinformatics researches (published in my github account).

Python is the main programming language I use nowadays. In particular numpy and pandas are of course extremely useful. I also use biopython package - a collection of software tools for biological computation written in Python by an international group of researchers and developers.

During the course I would like to continue working on a specific open-source package that I develop as part of my research.

P.S. My avatar is an origami model that I folded may years ago, using the instructions by Jo Nakashima.

Top comments (0)