DEV Community

Corecursive

The Reason For Types with Jared Forsyth on ReasonML and Javascript

Adam talked to Jared Forsyth about his journey from untyped javascript to using flow and eventually reasonml.

Click here to see if you are eligible for a the Springboard scholarship from our sponsor

"I mean, I was, I'll admit it I was definitely in the: 'I was scarred by Java and C plus plus in an intro to programming class and I never want to look at types again' Camp"

"My first language was Python and followed closely by Javascript. And so I was, I was loving the loosey goosey scripting language. My first experience of using types in JavaScript, I was like is this going to be terrible? Because there's so much overhead in Java and C plus, plus you have to write types for literally everything."

Links:

Episode source