DEV Community

Cover image for Why I decided it was time to become a Software Engineer
CraigSmith789
CraigSmith789

Posted on

Why I decided it was time to become a Software Engineer

I really enjoyed completing several coding classes in both high school and college. I assumed that coding would always be a part of my career.

After leaving school, I first headed to a global investment bank and then on to a smaller investment firm. Next, I assisted in launching another investment firm that went on to grow from 3 employees to nearly 100.

At this point, I felt the need to try something different. Each move to a smaller organization allowed me to realize that, similar to coding, I liked being able to see the direct results of my contributions. With that in mind, I decided to start my own real estate investment firm. I have really loved working and growing this company over the last several years.

Once again, I find myself eager to give myself a new challenge.

While most of my past roles were in technology, far too many hours of those days were spent on non-tech related tasks. I decided that it was the right time for me to pursue Software Engineering.

While this will certainly involve learning to code in various languages, it will also require a problem-solving mindset. The experience that I gained from having been a senior executive and also running my own small company has allowed me to sharpen the skills required for this next chapter. Problem-solving, perseverance in finding a solution, and time management will all be essential. I expect this to be exceedingly difficult at times, but certainly not impossible. I am looking forward to rekindling that coding spark that I once felt.

Top comments (0)