DEV Community

𓆏
𓆏

Posted on

A Not So Linear Journey

Long Journey

Hello! I'm back and still kicking! Last time I posted, I talked about my journey with the Flatiron boot camp, and about my mental health. It had been a long journey, but I had just finished my Phase 1 project and had been getting ready to present. Well, I managed to pass the presentation, and now I'm gearing up to present for the phase 2 project!

Phase 2 was all about probability, hypothesis testing, and Linear Regression. Most of it got very technical and mathematical, and I will admit that I struggled with probability. However, I kept myself going with the help of silly little probability jokes like this:

Probability

(Come on admit you chuckled)

When it came to probability, I learned about things like conditional probability and the difference between combinations and permutations. For hypothesis testing, I learned about the null hypothesis, the central limit theorem, and p-values. And for Linear Regression? I learned....well Linear Regression: The different methods to create a linear regression model, Linear Regression assumptions, r-squared values, etc. I think that out of all of the topics covered in this phase, Linear Regression was the easiest to understand. At the end of it all I felt a bit like Megamind, with my brain just bursting with knowledge.

Image description

It was then time to move onto the phase 2 project.

The second project was about using Linear Regression to advise a real estate company about which features of a house would increase the selling price the most. The real estate company would then advise their customers on appropriate renovations to make involving these features.

Real Estate

Working with Linear Regression, I used all the things I had learned about like assumptions, R-squared values, independent and dependent variables, etc.

I looked at plenty of graphs/plots like this:

Image description

And plenty of statistics summaries like this:

Image description

....At one point had to make sense of this (totally did and it felt good):

Image description

I won't spoil the results for you, but if you want to take a look at my project, it can be found at: https://github.com/aharri123/dsc-phase-2-project-v2-3

Wait a minute...

You may be asking "And during all of this, how was your mental health?" Usually I'd just give the 'ol fingerguns and say something along the lines of "Oh you know". Probably very similar to this:

Image description

But the truth is, my mental health had improved. I moved states to be closer to family and friends, found a consistent doctor who worked with me to find the right medication, started going to therapy, etc. Does that mean everything is perfect?

Absolutely not

I still have my bad days, I still have my insecure days, and I sure as hell have my days where I don't get anything done. On days like those, I just try my best and attempt to take it easy on myself. But for the first time in a long time, I have hope. Hope that things might actually work out as long as I put in the hard work and effort. Again, this goes out to all of you who are struggling with mental health. I promise you, it does get better. You've made it this far, and you'll make it even further!

Top comments (0)