DEV Community

Cover image for The Final Stretch
𓆏
𓆏

Posted on

The Final Stretch

As of today, I have just submitted my second to last project! After this, there's only a capstone project I have to do, which will be a culmination of everything I've learned. I couldn't be more excited (and more nervous)!

Image description

This time, the project was on advanced machine learning techniques. We learned about things like Natural Language Processing (NLP), Neural Networks, Recommendation Systems, etc. It was ALOT to take in, but I hung in there. Similar to the last project, we got to pick our topic, so I picked something that piqued my interest: Image Classification using Neural Networks.

Image description

My job was to take chest x-rays (like the one below) of patients with and without Pneumonia and to then classify the x-rays using Deep Neural Networks and Convolutional Neural Networks. I then compared the two types of Neural Networks to see which one could better classify images. I won't spoil anything for you, but if you want to check out my work, you can check it out here!

Image description

Gotta mention mental health of course! I've been trying to keep up with my mental health. It's stayed consistent, probably thanks to a combination of proper medication and therapy. However, I also started going to the gym! I try to go 5 days a week, and I can say it definitely has an effect on mood and energy. But a friendly reminder: I didn't just wake up one day and magically appear in the gym. I had to gather up the willpower and motivation to go, and it definitely isn't always easy to go (especially at 6 in the morning). But I fight through it, and I think that can extend to everyone's life. To all my people struggling with mental health issues and life problems, I believe you are strong enough to make it through! You WILL make it, and things WILL get better. Just hang in there a little longer.

(As a bonus, here's live footage of me at the gym):

Image description

Top comments (0)